Trade: Review of the safeguard measures against imports of certain steel products

Published: 22 June 2020

Policies & Issues: Trade

In light of the review of the safeguard measures against imports of certain steel products, Orgalim would like to express its continued concerns regarding these measures, imposed provisionally since July 2018, imposed definitively since January 2019 and renewed in September 2019.

We strongly oppose any changes to the steel safeguard measures that restrict the flexibility of downstream industries.

We draw attention to the special economic situation that has been caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. In this challenging economic crisis, it is crucial that companies have the freedom to react to the new situation by having access to raw materials.

The recent discussions regarding a possible tightening of these safeguard measures are raising strong concerns. We consider that the demand for a 75% reduction in duty-free import quotas in the short term is inappropriate. This request is contrary to WTO requirements, does not take into account the actual situation of the European steel market, and it is contrary to the interests of the downstream users in Europe.

To read our recommendations in full, please download the position above.

Authors

Selandari
Silvia Selandari
Senior Adviser - Trade and Legal

Related Position Papers

Legal: Joint Business Statement on the due diligence proposal (CS3D) [19 January 2023]

Trade: Orgalim recommendations for the future European Critical Raw Materials Act [28 November 2022]

Trade: Orgalim recommendations for the CBAM trilogues [28 October 2022]

Energy & Climate: Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism – Changes in the operating environment need to be addressed [19 April 2022]

Trade: Joint statement on EU trade agreements [7 March 2022]

Energy & Climate: Joint downstream industry statement on CBAM [24 February 2022]

Trade: Orgalim Position Paper on the carbon border adjustment mechanism (CBAM) [8 December 2021]

Trade: Orgalim priorities for future EU-US trade relations [28 September 2021]

Trade: Joint business statement - EU-Mercosur association agreement [28 June 2021]