Trade: Review of the safeguard measures against imports of certain steel products

Published: 22 June 2020

Policies & Issues: Trade

In light of the review of the safeguard measures against imports of certain steel products, Orgalim would like to express its continued concerns regarding these measures, imposed provisionally since July 2018, imposed definitively since January 2019 and renewed in September 2019.

We strongly oppose any changes to the steel safeguard measures that restrict the flexibility of downstream industries.

We draw attention to the special economic situation that has been caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. In this challenging economic crisis, it is crucial that companies have the freedom to react to the new situation by having access to raw materials.

The recent discussions regarding a possible tightening of these safeguard measures are raising strong concerns. We consider that the demand for a 75% reduction in duty-free import quotas in the short term is inappropriate. This request is contrary to WTO requirements, does not take into account the actual situation of the European steel market, and it is contrary to the interests of the downstream users in Europe.

To read our recommendations in full, please download the position above.

Authors

Selandari
Silvia Selandari
Adviser - Trade & Legal

Related Position Papers

Trade: Orgalim answer to the European Commission public consultation on the Trade Policy Review “A renewed trade policy for a stronger Europe” [25 September 2020]

Trade: Orgalim position on a possible Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism - CBAM [10 August 2020]

Trade: Orgalim Position Paper on the International Procurement Instrument [6 July 2020]

Trade: Review of the safeguard measures against imports of certain steel products [22 June 2020]

Trade: Orgalim comments on the EU-China trade relations [19 June 2020]

Trade: Orgalim Position Paper on the EU-Mercosur Free Trade Agreement [15 April 2020]

Trade: Orgalim Position Paper on future EU-UK trade relations [19 March 2020]

Trade: EU steel users call for flexible approach to steel safeguards review [3 March 2020]

Trade: Joint statement by European business on the recast of the EU Regulation on Dual-Use Export Controls [29 January 2020]